Mike Leader© 2019 All Rights Reserved

A history of the Greenwich Blue Coat Schools


1700 ~ 2014
Home Greenwich Blue Coat School 1700 St John's National School Blackheath & Kidbrooke School Blackheath Bluecoat School School Archives Contact Home Greenwich Blue Coat School 1700 St John's National School Blackheath & Kidbrooke School Blackheath Bluecoat School School Archives Contact

There was a Blue Coat school in Greenwich from 1700, when Greenwich Girls’ Blue Coat School was founded, until August 2014, when Greenwich Council closed Blackheath Bluecoat School. The story of the schools incorporates St John’s National Church of England School, the first Church School in the Blackheath area opened in 1854 and the Blackheath & Kidbrooke National Church of England School, which opened in 1911. Blackheath Bluecoat School dates from 1959 until 2014. This site documents the some fascinating highlights of history of the schools.



1700 Blue Coat Girls’ School founded in Greenwich

1854 St John’s National C of E School opened in Russell Place


1911 Blackheath & Kidbrooke C of E School opened in Old Dover Road


1959 Blue Coat Girls’ School and Blackheath & Kidbrooke School amalgamate to form Blackheath & Bluecoat School


1973 New enlarged buildings open


2009 Blackheath Bluecoat School in federation with Saint Cecilia’s Wandsworth


2014 Blackheath Bluecoat School closed

Time Line To begin using this site see Finding your way

For information about Greenwich Blue Coat Foundation (Bluecoat Trust) Click here . . .

This a picture of the school building which no longer exists.

The Blackheath Bluecoat building was used by St Mary Magdalene’s School as a temporary home for their secondary phase. They moved to a new building on Greenwich Peninsula in October 2018. The building has been demolished and the Leigh Academy Blackheath, which began in September 2018 in Victoria House, Shooters Hill Road, has been built and opened.. The site has been leased for 250 years by the Southwark Diocesan Board of Education.